Clearing Unwanted Chrome History Entries.

I will say this article is not for the faint of heart, or useful to 99% of the people out there but for me it was a major pain in the arse.  Anytime you find your self hacking around with files that you have no clue what they do, you know you are in an extreme situation.

So here is how it went down.  As all American men know its Football season, and that means its Fantasy Football Season.  I know we don’t visit the Fantasy Football League home page that often, wink wink and using a bookmarking to the page is tooo slow for me.

I just want to type  in the chrome address games enter and voila!   For those familiar with ESPN Fantasy Football the league address is something like:

games.espn.go.com/ffl/standings?leagueId=XXXXX

Unfortunately as most non-Americans know this was a World Cup year, and as a result some of us might have done some WC Bracket entries. This poses an issue for me because the URL for the ESPN bracket entry is some what similar

games.espn.go.com/bpredictor/en/entry?entryID=XXXXXX

As a result I type in “games”…

Games_History_ESPN_Bracket

Just got a nervous tick thinking about it… When I type games the bracket predictor shows up first (because of alphabetical sorting of URL), as result I can’t type “games” enter, I have to type games down down  down enter.  Completely unacceptable when you are theoretically doing this 20 times a day.

Now the simplest solution is to clear all history.  I don’t want to do this because I like the history, and ease of going to sites I visit frequently.

Tools you will need:

1.  Utility to browse SQL Lite files.  Simple easy one:  http://sourceforge.net/projects/sqlitebrowser/

2.  SQL Knowledge.

Step 1 Close Chrome.  That might prove challenging if you are reading this… 😉

Step 2. Open up “SQLite Database Browser” and then navigate top the History file located:

– C:\Users\<Your user name>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\History

Note history is actually the file name not the directory name.

Once you have opened the file you should see:

SQLLite_History

Click the Execute SQL Tab and enter

select count(1) from urls where url like '%bpredictor%'

In my case I had 27 entries.  The like condition in my scenario was bpredictor, you can change this to be whatever you want.  Now the magical part that will allow me to sleep well tonight.

delete from urls where url like '%bpredictor%'  ;
delete from segments where name like '%bpredictor%' ;

If you were to run your SQL Count command again you will now see 0.

Now you are done, go to File->Save Database.

SQL_Lite_SaveDB

Open up chrome type in “games”… wohooo! Now hit enter!

Games_History_ESPN_FF

Notice my shameless plug for StackOverflow.com  if you don’t know what it is, and you are a developer you should!

I am finding some pretty cool things in these SQL Lite DBs.. if i find anything else useful.. you know I will share it.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in General, Google, LinkedIn, Programming, Web Sites

Leave a Reply

